Our research

University of Exeter

Researchers at the University of Exeter are exploring the psychosocial barriers to physical activity and physical activity promotion via a series of qualitative interview studies, systematic reviews and surveys. Data will help inform the development of interventions to support multidisciplinary teams prescribe physical activity, and to support adolescents with CF to be more active. For more information contact Dr Sarah Denford (S.Denford@Exeter.ac.uk) Dr Alan Barker (A.R.Barker@Exeter.ac.uk) or Professor Williams (C.A.Williams@Exeter.ac.uk)

Building motivation for PA poster

Swansea University

At Swansea University, the team are systematically reviewing the existing calibration and validation studies in the literature, and determining thresholds for classification of PA intensity using accelerometry. For more information contact Dr Kelly Mackintosh (K.Macintosh@Swansea.ac.uk) Dr Melitta McNarry (M.Mcnarry@Swansea.ac.uk) or Mayara Silveira (M.SILVEIRA-BIANCHIM.890407@swansea.ac.uk)

How to accurately measure PA levels

UCL

Researchers at UCL are conducting a follow-up assessment of the INSPIRE-CF trial. This involves retesting with as many INSPIRE-CF participants as possible to explore the long term impact of the trial once it has ended. The team are also interviewing a selected sample of INSPIRE-CF participants.  These interviews are exploring experience of exercise, exercise interventions, establishing barriers/facilitators, current practices, what it is that helps maintain change.  These projects will inform the development of an exercise screening tool for use in clinical practice to help identify required exercise interventions/support/education for an individual with CF. For more information contact Professor Eleanor Main (E.Main@UCL.ac.uk) Helen Douglas (H.Douglas@UCL.ac.uk) Dr Sarah Rand (S.Rand@UCL.ac.uk) or Dr Mandy Bryon (Mandy.bryon@gosh.nhs.uk)

Barriers and facilitators to sport and exercise poster

Identifying exercise self efficacy poster

La Trobe University

At La Trobe University in Melbourne, the team The team are leading a randomised controlled trial to determine whether use of an online program (ActivOnline – www.activonline.com.au) to track physical activity participation and provide feedback, is more effective than usual care at improving physical activity participation, exercise capacity and quality of life, and prolonging the time to next hospital admission. For more information contact Dr Beverly Eldridge (B.Eldridge@Latrobe.edu.au) Professor Anne Holland (A.Holland@Latrobe.edu.au) or Dr Narelle Cox (N.Cox@Latrobe.edu.au)

Exercise assessment and training poster

The Hospital for Sick Children

In Canada, the team at The Hospital for Sick Children are leading a cross-sectional observational pilot study designed to expose the pathophysiological mechanisms of exercise intolerance, barriers to physical activity in CF, and the effects of CFTR class-specific modulator therapy on these mechanisms. Novel study findings will enable the use of broader functional outcome variables in determining clinical efficacy in patients with CF. To understand potential clinical variability in improvements of exercise tolerance and barriers to exercise following CFTR modulator therapy, the team will perform an additional nested longitudinal study investigating variables of interest before and following enrolment in CFTR modulator therapy. For more information contact Jessica Caterini (Jessica.caterini@mail.utoronto.ca), Dr Greg Wells (greg.wells@utoronto.ca) or Dr Jane Schneiderman (Jane.schneiderman@sickkids.ca).